Beginner Sewist

30 May

I took a sewing class!

A few months ago I decided that I’ve put off this challenge for way too long and I started researching sewing classes. I checked out the local Joann Fabric, G Street Fabric in Rockville, MD but in my google adventures I came across DC Threads. DC Threads is open sewing for any level sewer and is a part of

Bits of Thread Sewing Studio!

When looking for a class to sign up for there weren’t even any spaces available for weeks! I put my name on a wait list and soon received an email that more classes had been scheduled!

This past Saturday I made my way to the DC neighborhood called Adams Morgan and I was one of five students learning the basics of sewing.  It was for folks like me who have never even touched a machine.

I loved it! I can’t say I mastered anything but I learned how the machine works, how to load the bobbin and thread, how different speeds and widths and lengths affect your fabric, and more! Most importantly, I completed a project!!

20120529-234835.jpg

20120530-194239.jpg

20120530-194315.jpg

2 Responses to “Beginner Sewist”

  1. Samara June 7, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

    I love that you are sewing been trying to find the time for a class myself. Cant wait to start making some cute outfits for little momma and some dresses for me too. They have really cute patterns .

    • Jessica V. June 7, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

      Go Sam! Yea I’ve been wanting to sew for years so it was way overdue. I think that’s where I’m going to start also, by making some dresses for my little niece. I can just picture little flowers and poofy skirts already!!

Leave a Reply

